Agriculture, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, DR Congo, Empowerment, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, GRANTS, Guine-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, NGO, Niger, Nutrition, Poverty, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Trade, Uganda, Zambia

GAFSP Grants: Alleviate Poverty & Improve Rural Incomes


Deadline: 9 January 2017
Principal Office: USA
The Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP) has announced its fourth call for proposals for funding for strategic programs to alleviate poverty, improve rural incomes, and improve food and nutrition security.

GAFSP is comprised of two financing windows:

The Public Sector Window that, through grants, finances public investment and technical assistance to support implementation of country-led initiatives, giving priority to those with evidence of stakeholder participation from project design to implementation
The Private Sector Window that provides long- and short-term loans, credit guarantees, equity investment, and technical assistance to the private sector for activities in agricultural development and food security.

Key Areas

Raising agricultural productivity
Linking farmers to markets
Reducing risk and vulnerability
Improving non-farm rural livelihoods
Technical assistance and institutional support

Grant Information

GAFSP expects to allocate at least $125 million in total grant funding to the 3-5 highest ranked proposals

Eligibility Criteria

The call for proposals will be open to all members of the International Development Association (IDA) that are eligible to receive financing from IDA and not IBRD (“IDA-only countries”) and that are not in non-accrual status (mentioned below).

How to Apply

Proposals should be sent via e-mail at the address given on the website.
Submission documents must be in Microsoft Word, Excel, or PDF.

Eligible Countries

South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal.
East Asia and the Pacific: Cambodia, Kiribati, Lao PDR, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, FS, Myanmar, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.
ECA: Kosovo, Kyrgyz Rep., Tajikistan

Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, CAR, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, DRC, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana , Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia.

Latin America: Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua.
Middle East: Yemen.

See More Information: More Info…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *