Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, DR Congo, Ghana, GRANTS, Kenya, Mauritania, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Zambia

DFID: Health Systems Research Programme Consortia for LMICs


Deadline: 30 November 2016
Principal Office: UK
The UK’s Department for International Development (DFID) is launching a call for proposals during 2017, for its Health Systems Research Programme Consortia, in order to strengthen health systems, build resilience, and improve service delivery in challenging contexts.

The research programmes will focus on building stronger and more resilient health systems in low and middle income countries, and delivering health services to hardest to reach areas (subject to Ministerial approval). Also, the research programmes will take an integrated and multi-disciplinary approach to help DFID and the development community better understand what works to build resilient and accountable health systems that deliver for poor people.

DFID will be seeking multi-disciplinary research (bringing experience such as health systems research, financing, governance, essential services, political theory, social science and economics), that will build upon the existing evidence base and provide new knowledge with practical relevance to decision makers in the field in low and middle income countries.

Thematic Areas

It is expected that collectively the research programmes will provide critical new knowledge on:

Strengthening the key building blocks of health systems and ensuring the system as a whole works more effectively;
Improving health systems resilience to crises;
Delivering essential health services in challenging contexts (e.g. fragile and conflict affected states, slum/urban contexts, etc.)
Funds Available

It is anticipated 2 – 4 contracts will be awarded, each with a value of £6m – £8m.

How to Apply

Interested applicants must apply using DFID supplier portal.

Eligible Countries

Armenia, Indonesia, Samoa, Bangladesh, Kenya, São Tomé and Principe, Bhutan, Kiribati, Senegal, Bolivia, Kosovo, Solomon Islands, Cape Verde, Kyrgyz Republic, Sri Lanka, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Lesotho, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Mauritania, Syrian, Djibouti, Micronesia, Tajikistan, Egypt, Moldova, Timor-Leste, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Georgia, Myanmar, Uzbekistan, Ghana, Nicaragua, Vanuatu, Guatemala, Nigeria, Vietnam, Guyana, Pakistan, West Bank and Gaza, Honduras, Papua New Guinea, Yemen, India, Philippines, Zambia.

See More Information: More Info…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *